Fort Smith Fire Department

FSFD Staff


Administration

Fire Chief, Phil Christensen pchristensen@fortsmithar.gov

Assistant Chief, Boyd Waters bwaters@fortsmithar.gov

Joni Layne, Administration Assistant jlayne@fortsmithar.gov

Heather Dobbs, Senior Clerk hdobbs@fortsmithar.gov

Bureau of Fire Prevention and Investigation

Fire Marshal Ronnie Rogers, Division Chief of Fire Prevention and Investigation rrogers@fortsmithar.gov

Fire Marshal Tommy Bishop, Battalion Chief tbishop@fortsmithar.gov

Fire Marshal Carey St. Cyr, Battalion Chief cstcyr@fortsmithar.gov

Training

Fire Training Chief, Mark Hess mhess@fortsmithar.gov

EMT Training Chief, Scott Evans sevans@fortsmithar.gov

Suppression

Division Chief of Operations, Mark Talley mstalley@fortsmithar.gov

A-Shift Battalion-1 Chief, Tery Graves tgraves@fortsmithar.gov

A-Shift Battalion-2 Chief, Stanley Cole scole@fortsmithar.gov

B-Shift Battalion-1 Chief, David Edwards dedwards@fortsmithar.gov

B-Shift Battalion-2 Chief, Teddy Abbey tabbey@fortsmithar.gov

C-Shift Battalion-1 Chief, Anthony "Skip" Mathews amathews@fortsmithar.gov

C-Shift Battalion-2 Chief, Shawn Fuller sfuller@fortsmithar.gov

 

Mission


The mission of the Fort Smith Fire Department is to serve the community by protecting lives, property, and the environment in a safe, efficient and professional manner. The purpose of the Fort Smith Fire Department is to provide timely, effective and efficient fire protection, suppression, prevention, education and investigation services to the citizens of Fort Smith.

 

About the Fort Smith Fire Department


The Fort Smith Fire Department (FSFD) is a dynamic and progressive public safety provider to the citizens of Fort Smith and the greater Fort Smith Metropolitan Statistical Area. The FSFD provides an all-hazards approach while responding to many types of emergencies including, but not limited to, fires, medical first response, technical rescues, hazardous materials events, bomb response, natural disasters, and terrorist events. The FSFD is responsible for the coordination of emergency management for the City of Fort Smith and works very closely with Sebastian County and the State of Arkansas in all types of disasters and emergencies.

The FSFD's strength is in its 149 uniformed and 3 non-uniformed personnel. Located in 11 fire stations strategically placed within the City, our men and women are dedicated to their profession and the community. Not only do they risk their lives every day for the public, they also devote countless hours to charitable causes. Annually our firefighters raise and contribute thousands of dollars to charities such as Camp Sunshine, MDA, Christmas Time Shop with a Firefighter program, and the Christmas bicycle giveaway program. They have also provided assistance to families that have suffered fire losses, have built wheelchair ramps for the handicapped, and sponsored many other needy projects.

Our motto is Duty, Honor, Courage, and Brotherhood. The fire service is rich in tradition and leadership and we are proud to be a part of history. Our newest accomplishments with the formation of the Fort Smith Fire Department Honor Guard and the Pipe and Drum Corp truly exemplifies our deep conviction to our past and a pride that will lead us into the future.

This short questionnaire is part of an ongoing effort to solicit feedback regarding the Fire Department. Please take a few moments to complete the Questionaire.