
Arkansas State Licensing Law for Contractors 

17-25-101. Definition.

(a)(1)  As used in this chapter, “contractor” means any person, firm, partnership, copartnership, association, 
corporation, or other organization, or any combination thereof, that for a fixed price, commission, fee, or 
wage, attempts to or submits a bid to construct or demolish, or contracts or undertakes to construct or 
demolish, or assumes charge, in a supervisory capacity or otherwise, or manages the construction, 
erection, alteration, demolition, or repair, or has or have constructed, erected, altered, demolished, or 
repaired, under his or her, their, or its direction, any building, apartment, condominium, highway, sewer, 
utility, grading, or any other improvement or structure on public or private property for lease, rent, 
resale, public access, or similar purpose, except single-family residences, when the cost of the work to 
be done, or done, in the State of Arkansas by the contractor, including, but not limited to, labor and 
materials, is fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) or more. 

(2) However, when a person or an entity acts as a contractor in the construction, erection, alteration,
demolition, or repair of his or her own or its own property, such action shall not result in the person’s or
entity’s being required to obtain a license, but the person or entity shall comply with all other provisions
of this chapter.

(b) However, the fifty-thousand-dollar exception shall not apply to any project of construction in which any
of the construction work necessary to complete the project, except any in-progress change orders, is
divided into separate contracts of amounts less than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000), a purpose being to
circumvent the provisions of this chapter.

(c) It is the intention of this definition to include all improvements, demolition, or structures, excepting only
single-family residences.
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