ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

NOTICE

to employer & employee

MINIMUM WAGE
All employees covered by Arkansas Code 11-4-202 to
11-4-220 must be paid a minimum wage of at least:

$9.25 an hour effective January 1, 2019 with an
allowance for gratuities not to exceed $6.62
per hour.
$10.00 an hour effective January 1, 2020 with an
allowance for gratuities not to exceed
$7.37 per hour.
$11.00 an hour effective January 1, 2021 with an
allowance for gratuities not to exceed
$8.37 per hour.
COVERAGE
The Arkansas Minimum Wage applies to an employer
of four (4) or more persons.
All employees of the above employers are covered
except:
*Executive, administrative or professional employees.
*Qutside commission-paid salesmen.
*Students whose work is a part of a bona fide
vocational training program.
*Students who work in the schools they are attending.
*Some farm laborers.
*Independent contractors.
*Employees of the United States.

STUDENT RATE

Any full-time student attending any accredited
institution of education within the State of Arkansas,
and who is employed to work an amount not to
exceed twenty (20) hours during weeks that school is
in session or forty (40) hours during weeks when
school is not in session, such rate of wage shall be
equal to not less than eighty-five (85%) of the
applicable minimum wage provided a Student
Certificate of Eligibility is obtained from the Arkansas
Department of Labor. Student workers subject to the
85% provision of the applicable minimum wage rate
and a gratuity allowance shall not be paid less than
the base wage guaranteed any other employee
subject to a gratuity allowance.

HANDICAPPED WORKERS
The Director has established procedures for
employment of these workers. For further information
contact the Department of Labor.

STUDENT-LEARNERS
A "Student-Learner" is a person who is receiving
regular instructions in an accredited school and who
is employed on a part-time basis in a bona fide
training program. For further information contact the
Department of Labor.

OVERTIME PAY
Overtime compensation must be paid at the rate of
one and one-half times the regular hourly rate of pay
for hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a
workweek.  This overtime provision shall not be
applicable with respect to employers with less than 4
employees, or agricultural employees.

WORKWEEK
A workweek is a regularly recurring period of
168 hours in the form of seven consecutive 24-hour
periods.

ENFORCEMENT

Powers of the Director of Labor:

The Director or his representatives have the authority

to:

(@ enter and inspect any place of employment
in the State to examine books, payrolls, and
records having to do with wages and hours.
He may copy these records if necessary and
may question any employees to find out if
the law is being obeyed.

(b) require written or sworn statements from an
employer about his employees' earnings and
hours of work.

(c) enforce all regulations issued thereunder.

DEDUCTIONS FROM

THE MINIMUM WAGE
No deduction from the applicable minimum wage may
be made except those authorized or required by law

or by regulations of the Director of Labor, however,
deductions which are not otherwise prohibited and
which are for the employee's benefit may be made if
authorized in writing by the employee.

KEEPING OF RECORDS

All employers subject to the Minimum Wage Law
must keep accurate records for a period of three (3)
years. These records must include the name,
address, occupation, rate of pay, hours worked and
the amount paid each pay period for all employees
covered by the law. In addition, every employer who
claims an allowance for tips, board, lodging, apparel
or other items or services as part of the applicable
minimum wage rate, must maintain daily records
showing for each employee the amounts claimed as
allowances and must maintain records which will
substantiate the amount of tips actually received by
the employee or the employer's reasonable cost in
supplying items or services to the employee.

EQUAL PAY ACT

No employer in the State of Arkansas shall
discriminate in the payment of wages as between the
sexes or shall pay any female in his employ, salary or
wage rate less than the rates paid to male employees
for comparable work. Provided, however, that nothing
in this Act shall prohibit a variation in rates of pay
based upon a difference in seniority, experience,
training, skill, ability, or difference in duties and
services performed, or difference in the shift or time of
the day worked, or any other reasonable
differentiation except difference in sex. Every
employer shall keep and maintain records of the
salaries and wage rates, job classifications and other
terms and conditions of employment of the persons
employed by him and such records shall be preserved
for a period of three (3) years.

PENALTIES

Any employer who willfully hinders or delays the
Director or his authorized representative in the
performance of his duties in the enforcement of these
statutes or otherwise willfully violates any provision of
these statutes or of any regulation issued under it
shall be deemed in violation of the Minimum Wage
Law and shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less
than fifty dollars ($50.00) and not more than one
thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for each violation. For
the purpose of this subsection, each such violation
shall constitute a separate offense. Any employer
who willfully discharges or in any other manner
willfully discriminates against any employee because
such employee has made any complaint to his
employer, to the Director of Labor, or his authorized
representative that he has not been paid minimum
wages in accordance with the provisions of these
statutes, or because such employee has caused to be
instituted or is about to cause to be instituted any
proceeding under or related to these statutes, or
because such employee has testified or is about to
testify in any such proceeding shall be deemed in
violation of the Minimum Wage Law and shall be
subject to a civil penalty of not less than fifty dollars
($50.00) and not more than one thousand dollars
($1,000.00) for each violation. For the purpose of this
section, each day the violation continues shall
constitute a separate offense. In addition to the
civil penalty, the Director of Labor is authorized to
petition any court of competent jurisdiction to enjoin or
restrain any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or
association who violates the provision of these
statutes or any regulation.

EMPLOYEES REMEDIES
The Director of Labor may enforce Arkansas
minimum wage law by instituting legal action to
recover any wages due. An employee may bring an
action for equitable and monetary relief against an
employer, including the State of Arkansas or a
political subdivision of the state, if the employer pays
the employee less than the minimum wages, including
overtime wages, to which the employee is entitled.
The employee shall not be required to exhaust
administrative remedies before bringing an action. An
employee may recover the full amount of wages due
plus costs and a reasonable attorney’'s fee. The

employee may also be awarded an additional amount
up to but not greater than the amount of wages found
to be due, to be paid as liquidated damages.

CHILD LABOR

State law regulates the employment of minors under
the age of 17 and, generally, requires children under
the age of 16 to have employment Ccertificates.
Employment certificates for children ages 14 and 15
are not required for seasonal agricultural laborers,
newspaper carriers, or batboys of professional
baseball clubs, or sports referees.

Special provisions govern the employment of children
in the entertainment industry, otherwise, children who
are 14 and 15 years of age may not work:

*More than 8 hours a day.

*More than 6 days a week.

*More than 48 hours a week.

*Before 6:00 a.m. nor after 7:00 p.m.

except on nights preceding non-school days,

such children may work until 9:00 p.m.
Children under 14 may not be employed except in the
entertainment industry, as newspaper carriers, bat
boys or bat girls of professional baseball clubs, sports
referees, to hand harvest short season crops, or by
their parents or guardians during school vacation.

Children who are 16 years of age may not
work:

*More than 10 consecutive hours in any one
day; no more than ten 10 hours in a twenty-four hour
period.

*More than 6 days a week.

*More than 54 hours a week.

*Before 6:00 a.m. nor after 11:00 p.m.
except that the limitations of 6:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m.
shall not apply to children 16 years of age employed
on nights preceding non-school days in occupations
determined by rule of the Arkansas Department of
Labor to be sufficiently safe for their employment. No
16-year old shall be subject to the provisions of this
Act if:

(@ such boy or girl is a graduate of any
high school, vocational school or technical school;
(b) such boy or girl is married or is a

parent.

Act 647 of 1987 allows for the employment of children
in the entertainment industry provided the child is
issued an Entertainment Work Permit by the Director
of Labor. Child labor violations result in a civil money
penalty of not less than $50.00 and not more than
$1,000.00 for each violation.

IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS CONCERNING
THE ARKANSAS MINIMUM WAGE LAW,
TELEPHONE 682-4534.

WAGE COLLECTION ACT

The Wage Collection Act provides assistance to any
employee in the collection of wages due him or her for
work performed. Work performed shall include all or
any work or service performed by any person
employed for any period of time where the wages or
salary or remunerations for such work or services are
to be paid at stated intervals or at the termination of
such employment, or for physical work actually
performed by an independent contractor, provided
that the amount in controversy does not exceed the
sum of two thousand dollars ($2,000.00). Employees
who need help in collecting wages due them should
contact the Arkansas Labor Department. Telephone
682-4510.

THIS POSTER CONTAINS
ONLY A SUMMARY
Copies of the complete laws and regulations are
available from the Department of Labor.

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
10421 WEST MARKHAM STREET
LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72205

PHONE (501) 682-4500
FAX (501) 682-4506
TDD (800) 285-1131

EMPLOYERS SUBJECT TO THE MINIMUM WAGE ACT ARE REQUIRED TO POST THIS NOTICE IN A CONSPICUOUS PLACE FOR ALL EMPLOYEES.

Effective January 1, 2019



ARKANSAS WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
Form AR-P COMMISSION
324 Spring Street, Little Rock, AR 72201
Ark. Code Ann. Mail: P. O. Box 950, Little Rock, AR 72203-0950
%:é&%éos’ 1407 Little Rock Office - 1-800-622-4472 / 501-682-3930
Updatedlf « Springdale Office - 1-800-852-5376 / 479-751-2790
06-16-14

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSTRUCTIONS TO
EMPLOYERS AND EMPLOYEES

All employees of this establishment entitled to benefits under the provisions of the Arkansas workers’ compensation laws are hereby notified that their
employer has sccured the payment of such compensation as may at any time be due employecs or their dependents. This employer is required by state

law to provide workers’ compensation coverage or this employer has waived the exclusion or exemption from the operation of the workers’ compensation
laws, and the employer certifies by the display of this poster that workers’ compensation coverage is now provided by a workers’ compensation insurance
policy or by enrollment in the Arkansas Self-Insurance Program or by the Public Employee Claims Division of the Arkansas Insurance Department.

(Place label indicating Insurer’s Name,
Claims Office Address, Claims Office Phone Number
and Policy Expiration Date)

IN CASE OF JOB-RELATED INJURIES OR OCCUPATIONAL DISEASES
The Employer Shall:

1. Provideall necessary medical, surgical and hospital treatment, as required by law, following the injury and for such
additional time as ordered by the Workers” Compensation Commission.
2. Provide compensation payments in accordance with the provisions of the law. The first installment of

compensation becomes due on the 15" day after the employer has notice of the injury or death, except in those
cases where liability has been denied by the employer.

3. Provide prompt reporting of accidents to appropriate parties.

4. Keep a record of all injuries received by its employees.

The Employee Shall:

The employee shall report the injury to the employer on Form N and to a person or at a place specified by the employer,
unless the injury either renders the employee physically or mentally unable to do so, or the injury is made known to the
employer immediately after it occurs. The employer shall not be responsible for disability, medical, or other benefits prior
to receipt of the employee’s notice of injury. All reporting procedures specified by the employer must be reasonable and
shall afford each employee reasonable notice of the reporting requirements. The foregoing shall not apply when an
employee requires emergency medical treatment outside the employer’s normal business hours; however, in that event, the
employee shall cause a report of the injury to be made to the employer on the employer’s next regular business day.

Failure to give such notice shall not bar any claim (1) if the employer had knowledge of the injury or death, (2) if the
employee had no knowledge that the condition or disease arose out of and in the course of employment, or (3) if the
Commission excuses such failure on the grounds that for some satisfactory reason such notice could not be given. Objection
to failure to give notice must be made at or before the first hearing on the claim.

Statutory Information:
Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-514(b) states: “Treatment or services furnished or prescribed by any physician other than the ones
selected according to the foregoing, except emergency treatment, shall be at the claimant’s expense.”
Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-514(f), however, indicates: When compensability is controverted, subsection (b) shall not apply if:

(1) The employee requests medical assistance in writing prior to seeking the same as a result of an alleged
compensable injury; and

(2) The employer refuses to refer the employee to a medical provider within forty-eight (48) hours after such written
request as provided above; and

3) The alleged injury is later found to be a compensable injury; and

4) The employer has not made a previous offer of medical treatment.

If you have any questions regarding your rights under the Arkansas workers’ compensation laws, you may call an Arkansas
Workers” Compensation Commission legal advisor at our toll-free number listed above.

All employers who come within the operation of the Arkansas workers’ compensation laws and have complied with its
provisions must post this notice in a CONSPICUOUS place in or about their place or places of business.

P



ARKANSAS Deparfment of NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

WORKFORCESER\/|/CES |HOW TO CLAIM UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

Employees of City of Fort Smith Arkansas
are covered by the Department of Workforce Services Law.

The Law provides Unemployment Benefits for unemployed workers and under certain conditions for those
working only part time.

As a covered employee, your employer has contributed to or will reimburse the Arkansas Unemployment Trust
Fund from which benefits are paid. NO DEDUCTIONS CAN BE MADE FROM YOUR WAGES FOR THIS
PURPOSE. Be sure your employer has your correct Social Security Account Number.

A. If and when you know you are going to be out of work for a calendar week or more, YOU SHOULD
PROMPTLY:

File a claim for benefits through the Department of Workforce Services office nearest you.
We will try to help locate work for you both before benefit payments start and while they are being paid.

B.  If you are attached to a regular employer, working less than full time due entirely to lack of work, you may
be eligible for partial Unemployment Insurance Benefits.

In that case, claim partial benefits --promptly --by reporting the facts (dates, wages, employer) to your
Local Office. Do not delay doing this.

Our Local Office will answer questions and supply further information.

Full time Local Offices are situated in the following cities to provide services to Unemployment Insurance Claimants:

Arkadelphia Harrison Monticello
Batesville Helena Mountain Home
Benton Hope Newport
Blytheville Hot Springs Paragould
Camden Jacksonville Pine Bluff
Conway Jonesboro Rogers

El Dorado Little Rock Russellville
Fayetteville Magnolia Searcy

Forrest City Malvern Texarkana

Fort Smith Mena West Memphis

CAUTION: False statements to obtain benefits, concealment of material facts, or failure to report earnings for the
purpose of obtaining or increasing Unemployment Insurance Payments, are violations of criminal laws and lead to
prosecution.

*** Servicios de Interpretacion/Traduccion disponibles por medio de su oficina local. - Ewér Jerbal in ukok ikijien jeje im kennaan ilo opif ko ijo kwoj pad ie.
—- Cdc Dich Vu Théng Dich/Phién Dich c6 sén qua vin phong dia phuong cia quy vi. - 078909008109 10209170 dmDEN 1 VI IFICIENIVCUICONETIV
--- Interpretation/Translation services available through your local office. ***

Page 1 of 1 DWS-ARK-237 (Rev. 1-07) v05152018




ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

NOTICE

TO EMPLOYER AND EMPLOYEE

Act 556 of 1991 entitled the
PUBLIC EMPLOYEES' CHEMICAL RIGHT TO KNOW ACT

PURPOSE
The purpose of this law is to provide public employees
access to training and information concerning hazardous
chemicals in order to enable them to minimize their exposure
to such chemicals and protect their health, safety and welfare.

PUBLIC EMPLOYERS' DUTIES
Public employers are responsible for the following as set
out by the law:
1. Post adequate notice to inform employees of their rights
2. Ensure proper chemical labeling
a. Existing labels on containers of hazardous chemicals are
not to be removed
b. If a chemical is transferred to another container, it must
also be labeled with the name and appropriate
warnings, as provided in this law
c. A public employer is not required to label chemicals that
have been transferred to a portable container by an
employee when that employee is going to
immediately use the chemical.
3. Maintain and make material safety data sheets available
a. Chemical manufacturers and distributors must provide
public employers with the appropriate MSDSs within
the prescribed times
b. Public employers must maintain current copies of each
MSDS and have them available to employees and
their designated representatives upon request within
the prescribed time
c. The employer must not require an employee to work
with a chemical until a MSDS can be furnished
except as indicated by this law
d. An employee who declines to work with a chemical may
not be penalized
e. Public employers shall provide a copy of MSDSs to the
Director of Labor upon request
4. Compile and maintain a workplace chemical list for
hazardous chemicals used, generated, or stored in amounts of
55 gallons or 500 pounds or more
a. The Workplace Chemical List must show the chemical
or common name used on the MSDS and/or the
container label, the Chemical Abstracts Service
Number and the work area where it will normally be
used, generated, or stored
b. Chemical lists shall be filed with the Director of Labor
no later than October 14, 1991, updated when
necessary, and refiled July 1 of each year
5. Provide employees with information and training
a. The Director of Labor is responsible for maintaining a
general information and training assistance program
to aid public employers
b. Additional training must be provided when a new hazard
is introduced, when new information is received, or
before new employees are assigned to a job
c. Information and training programs must meet the
requirements specified in the law and in the
regulations of the Director of Labor.
d. Information and training programs must be developed
by January 15, 1992, and initial information and
training must be provided prior to July 15, 1992.
Employers must keep a record of the dates of
training sessions given to their employees.
e. The Director of Labor's rules and regulations concerning
refresher training and training exemptions must be
followed

6. Handle trade secrets in accordance with provisions set out
in the law
a. The Director of Labor can request data substantiating a
trade secret claim when asked to by an employee,
designated representative, or public employer
b. All information will be kept confidential

PUBLIC EMPLOYEES' RIGHTS

Public employees who may be exposed to hazardous
chemicals must be informed and shall have access to the
Workplace Chemical List, MSDSs for the chemicals on the
list, and information and training as provided in this act.

A public employee cannot be disciplined, discharged
or discriminated against for requesting information, filing a
complaint, assisting an inspector of the Department of Labor,
causing any complaint or proceeding to be instituted,
testifying in any proceeding, or exercising any right afforded
by this law.

Any waiver of the benefits or requirement of this law
are a violation and are therefore null and void.

COMPLAINTS AND INVESTIGATIONS
The Director of the Department of Labor will
investigate written and oral complaints from public employees
concerning violations of this law. The Director or his
designated representative has the authority to enter the
workplace and conduct a thorough investigation of the
complaint as specified by this law.

ENFORCEMENT

If the Director of Labor finds a public employer in
violation of this law, he shall issue an order to cease and desist
the act or omission constituting the violation.

If the Director of Labor finds that a public employer
has failed to provide the required information and training by
the prescribed time, he may conduct the program and charge
the employer for the costs incurred.

Violation of this act shall be cause for adverse
personnel action against the responsible supervisor as set out
in this act.

CAUSE OF ACTION - ATTORNEY FEES

Any citizen denied their rights under this law may
commence civil action in circuit court and the court shall hear
the petition within seven days.

The court shall have the jurisdiction to restrain
violations of this act and to order all appropriate relief. Those
who refuse to comply with these orders will be in contempt of
court.

Attorney fees and court costs will be assessed to the
defendant and plaintiff as set out by the law.

NO EFFECT ON OTHER LEGAL DUTIES

The provision of information to a public employee
does not affect the liability of the employer with regard to the
health and safety of the employee, or the employer's
responsibility to prevent the occurrence of occupational
disease.

The provision of information to an employee also
does not affect any other duty or responsibility of a chemical
manufacturer or distributor to warn users of a hazardous
chemical.

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
10421 WEST MARKHAM
LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72205
PH. (501) 682-4500

EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED TO POST THIS NOTICE IN A CONSPICUOUS PLACE



EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

1 2.2.2.0000.000086800800080.8.6 6 ¢

Under the Arkansas
Whistle-Blower Act

The Arkansas Whistle-Blower Act prohibits a public employer from
taking adverse action against a public employee who communicates in good faith
to an appropriate authority the existence of waste of public funds, property, or
manpower or a violation of law; participates, or gives information, in an
investigation, hearing, court proceeding, legislative inquiry, or administrative
review; or objects to carrying out a directive the public employee reasonably
believes violates the law.

A whistle-blower is a person who witnesses or has evidence of waste or a
violation of law while employed by a public employer and who communicates in
good faith about the waste or violation to a supervisor, an agent of the public
employer, or an appropriate authority (e.g., Office of Attorney General, Office of
Auditor of State, Arkansas Ethics Commission, Legislative Joint Auditing
Committee, Arkansas Legislative Audit, Prosecuting Attorney, etc.).

If a public employer takes adverse «QBEWSWTA
action against a public employee, that e 3%

employee may bring civil suit against the public
employer to recover actual damages and injunctive
relief. There are time limitations and other
requirements applicable to this right of action. A
public employee reporting waste or violations may
be eligible for a financial reward.

> To anonymously report suspicions of illegal
\/ activity by government officials, call the FBI
’ hotline at 501.221.9100 (Press Option 8)
OR 501.221.8200.

This notice summarizes certain portions of the Arkansas Whistle-Blower Act. For more information,
consult Act 1523 of 1999, as amended, and Ark. Code Ann. §§ 21-1-601 to -610.



EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

UNDER THE FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT
FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE

§7.25.-

BEGINNING JULY 24, 2009

The law requires employers to display this poster where employees can readily see it.

OVERTIME PAY Atleast 1’2 times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

CHILD LABOR An employee must be at least 16 years old to work in most non-farm jobs and at least 18 to work
in non-farm jobs declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor. Youths 14 and 15 years old may
work outside school hours in various non-manufacturing, non-mining, non-hazardous jobs with
certain work hours restrictions. Different rules apply in agricultural employment.

TIP CREDIT Employers of “tipped employees” who meet certain conditions may claim a partial wage credit
based on tips received by their employees. Employers must pay tipped employees a cash wage
of at least $2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit against their minimum wage obligation. If an
employee’s tips combined with the employer’s cash wage of at least $2.13 per hour do not equal
the minimum hourly wage, the employer must make up the difference.

NURSING The FLSA requires employers to provide reasonable break time for a nursing mother employee

MOTHERS who is subject to the FLSA’s overtime requirements in order for the employee to express breast
milk for her nursing child for one year after the child’s birth each time such employee has a need
to express breast milk. Employers are also required to provide a place, other than a bathroom,
that is shielded from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public, which may be
used by the employee to express breast milk.

ENFORCEMENT The Department has authority to recover back wages and an equal amount in liquidated damages
in instances of minimum wage, overtime, and other violations. The Department may litigate
and/or recommend criminal prosecution. Employers may be assessed civil money penalties for
each willful or repeated violation of the minimum wage or overtime pay provisions of the law.

Civil money penalties may also be assessed for violations of the FLSA’s child labor provisions.
Heightened civil money penalties may be assessed for each child labor violation that results in
the death or serious injury of any minor employee, and such assessments may be doubled when
the violations are determined to be willful or repeated. The law also prohibits retaliating against or
discharging workers who file a complaint or participate in any proceeding under the FLSA.

ADDITIONAL Certain occupations and establishments are exempt from the minimum wage, and/or overtime

INFORMATION P provisions.

e Special provisions apply to workers in American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern
Mariana Islands, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

e Some state laws provide greater employee protections; employers must comply with both.

e Some employers incorrectly classify workers as “independent contractors” when they are
actually employees under the FLSA. It is important to know the difference between the two
because employees (unless exempt) are entitled to the FLSA’s minimum wage and overtime
pay protections and correctly classified independent contractors are not.

e Certain full-time students, student learners, apprentices, and workers with disabilities may be
paid less than the minimum wage under special certificates issued by the Department of Labor.

1-866-487-9243
TTY: 1-877-889-5627
www.dol.gov/whd

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

WH1088 REV 07/16




Equal Employment Opportunity is

THELAW

Private Employers, State and Local Governments, Educational Institutions, Employment
Agencies and Labor Organizations

Applicants to and employees of most private employers, state and local governments, educational
institutions, employment agencies and labor organizations are protected under Federal law from
discrimination on the following bases:

RACE, COLOR, RELIGION, SEX, NATIONAL ORIGIN

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, protects applicants and employees from discrimination in
hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification, referral, and other aspects of
employment, on the basis of race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), or national origin. Religious
discrimination includes failing to reasonably accommodate an employee’s religious practices where the
accommodation does not impose undue hardship.

DISABILITY

Title | and Title V of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, as amended, protect qualified individuals
from discrimination on the basis of disability in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training,
classification, referral, and other aspects of employment. Disability discrimination includes not making
reasonable accommodation to the known physical or mental limitations of an otherwise qualified individual
with a disability who is an applicant or employee, barring undue hardship.

AGE

The Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, as amended, protects applicants and employees 40 years
of age or older from discrimination based on age in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job
training, classification, referral, and other aspects of employment.

SEX (WAGES)

In addition to sex discrimination prohibited by Title VII of the Civil Rights Act, as amended, the Equal Pay Act
of 1963, as amended, prohibits sex discrimination in the payment of wages to women and men performing
substantially equal work, in jobs that require equal skill, effort, and responsibility, under similar working
conditions, in the same establishment.



GENETICS

Title Il of the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 protects applicants and employees from
discrimination based on genetic information in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training,
classification, referral, and other aspects of employment. GINA also restricts employers’ acquisition of
genetic information and strictly limits disclosure of genetic information. Genetic information includes
information about genetic tests of applicants, employees, or their family members; the manifestation of
diseases or disorders in family members (family medical history); and requests for or receipt of genetic
services by applicants, employees, or their family members.

RETALIATION

All of these Federal laws prohibit covered entities from retaliating against a person who files a charge of
discrimination, participates in a discrimination proceeding, or otherwise opposes an unlawful employment
practice.

WHAT TO DO IF YOU BELIEVE DISCRIMINATION HAS OCCURRED

There are strict time limits for filing charges of employment discrimination. To preserve the ability of EEOC to
act on your behalf and to protect your right to file a private lawsuit, should you ultimately need to, you
should contact EEOC promptly when discrimination is suspected: The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission (EEOC), 1-800-669-4000 (toll-free) or 1-800-669-6820 (toll-free TTY number for individuals with
hearing impairments). EEOC field office information is available at www.eeoc.gov or in most telephone
directories in the U.S. Government or Federal Government section. Additional information about EEOC,
including information about charge filing, is available at www.eeoc.gov.

Employers Holding Federal Contracts or Subcontracts

Applicants to and employees of companies with a Federal government contract or subcontract are protected
under Federal law from discrimination on the following bases:

RACE, COLOR, RELIGION, SEX, NATIONAL ORIGIN

Executive Order 11246, as amended, prohibits job discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex or
national origin, and requires affirmative action to ensure equality of opportunity in all aspects of
employment.

INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES

Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, protects qualified individuals from discrimination
on the basis of disability in hiring, promotion, discharge, pay, fringe benefits, job training, classification,
referral, and other aspects of employment. Disability discrimination includes not making reasonable
accommodation to the known physical or mental limitations of an otherwise qualified individual with a
disability who is an applicant or employee, barring undue hardship. Section 503 also requires that Federal
contractors take affirmative action to employ and advance in employment qualified individuals with
disabilities at all levels of employment, including the executive level.



DISABLED, RECENTLY SEPARATED, OTHER PROTECTED, AND ARMED FORCES SERVICE
MEDAL VETERANS

The Vietnam Era Veterans’ Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974, as amended, 38 U.S.C. 4212, prohibits job
discrimination and requires affirmative action to employ and advance in employment disabled veterans,
recently separated veterans (within three years of discharge or release from active duty), other protected
veterans (veterans who served during a war or in a campaign or expedition for which a campaign badge has
been authorized), and Armed Forces service medal veterans (veterans who, while on active duty, participated
in a U.S. military operation for which an Armed Forces service medal was awarded).

RETALIATION

Retaliation is prohibited against a person who files a complaint of discrimination, participates in an OFCCP
proceeding, or otherwise opposes discrimination under these Federal laws.

Any person who believes a contractor has violated its nondiscrimination or affirmative action obligations
under the authorities above should contact immediately:

The Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP), U.S. Department of Labor, 200 Constitution
Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20210, 1-800-397-6251 (toll-free) or (202) 693-1337 (TTY). OFCCP may also
be contacted by e-mail at OFCCP-Public@dol.gov, or by calling an OFCCP regional or district office, listed in
most telephone directories under U.S. Government, Department of Labor.

Programs or Activities Receiving Federal Financial Assistance

RACE, COLOR, NATIONAL ORIGIN, SEX

In addition to the protections of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, Title VI of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, as amended, prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color or national origin in programs or
activities receiving Federal financial assistance. Employment discrimination is covered by Title VI if the
primary objective of the financial assistance is provision of employment, or where employment
discrimination causes or may cause discrimination in providing services under such programs. Title IX of the
Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of sex in educational
programs or activities which receive Federal financial assistance.

INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, prohibits employment discrimination on the basis
of disability in any program or activity which receives Federal financial assistance. Discrimination is
prohibited in all aspects of employment against persons with disabilities who, with or without reasonable
accommodation, can perform the essential functions of the job.

If you believe you have been discriminated against in a program of any institution which receives Federal
financial assistance, you should immediately contact the Federal agency providing such assistance.

EEOC 9/02 and OFCCP 8/08 Versions Useable With 11/09 Supplement
EEOC-P/E-1 (Revised 11/09)



EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

UNDER THE FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

LEAVE
ENTITLEMENTS

BENEFITS &
PROTECTIONS

ELIGIBILITY
REQUIREMENTS

REQUESTING
LEAVE

EMPLOYER
RESPONSIBILITIES

ENFORCEMENT

Eligible employees who work for a covered employer can take up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave in a 12-month period
for the following reasons:

e The birth of a child or placement of a child for adoption or foster care;

e To bond with a child (leave must be taken within one year of the child’s birth or placement);

e To care for the employee’s spouse, child, or parent who has a qualifying serious health condition;

e  For the employee’s own qualifying serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the employee’s job;

e For qualifying exigencies related to the foreign deployment of a military member who is the employee’s spouse,
child, or parent.

An eligible employee who is a covered servicemember’s spouse, child, parent, or next of kin may also take up to 26 weeks
of FMLA leave in a single 12-month period to care for the servicemember with a serious injury or iliness.

An employee does not need to use leave in one block. When it is medically necessary or otherwise permitted, employees
may take leave intermittently or on a reduced schedule.

Employees may choose, or an employer may require, use of accrued paid leave while taking FMLA leave. If an employee
substitutes accrued paid leave for FMLA leave, the employee must comply with the employer’s normal paid leave policies.

While employees are on FMLA leave, employers must continue health insurance coverage as if the employees were not on leave.

Upon return from FMLA leave, most employees must be restored to the same job or one nearly identical to it with
equivalent pay, benefits, and other employment terms and conditions.

An employer may not interfere with an individual’s FMLA rights or retaliate against someone for using or trying to use FMLA leave,
opposing any practice made unlawful by the FMLA, or being involved in any proceeding under or related to the FMLA.

An employee who works for a covered employer must meet three criteria in order to be eligible for FMLA leave. The employee must:

e Have worked for the employer for at least 12 months;
e Have at least 1,250 hours of service in the 12 months before taking leave;* and
e Work at a location where the employer has at least 50 employees within 75 miles of the employee’s worksite.

*Special “hours of service” requirements apply to airline flight crew employees.

Generally, employees must give 30-days’ advance notice of the need for FMLA leave. If it is not possible to give 30-days’ notice,
an employee must notify the employer as soon as possible and, generally, follow the employer’s usual procedures.

Employees do not have to share a medical diagnosis, but must provide enough information to the employer so it can determine
if the leave qualifies for FMLA protection. Sufficient information could include informing an employer that the employee is or
will be unable to perform his or her job functions, that a family member cannot perform daily activities, or that hospitalization or
continuing medical treatment is necessary. Employees must inform the employer if the need for leave is for a reason for which
FMLA leave was previously taken or certified.

Employers can require a certification or periodic recertification supporting the need for leave. If the employer determines that the
certification is incomplete, it must provide a written notice indicating what additional information is required.

Once an employer becomes aware that an employee’s need for leave is for a reason that may qualify under the FMLA, the
employer must notify the employee if he or she is eligible for FMLA leave and, if eligible, must also provide a notice of rights and
responsibilities under the FMLA. If the employee is not eligible, the employer must provide a reason for ineligibility.

Employers must notify its employees if leave will be designated as FMLA leave, and if so, how much leave will be designated as
FMLA leave.

Employees may file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, or may bring a private lawsuit
against an employer.

The FMLA does not affect any federal or state law prohibiting discrimination or supersede any state or local law or collective
bargaining agreement that provides greater family or medical leave rights.

For additional information or to file a complaint: ak~.10|

] "

1-866-4-USWAGE o}

(1-866-487-9243) TTY: 1-877-889-5627

www.dol.gov/whd =WHDB

U.S. Department of Labor | Wage and Hour Division WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

WH1420 REV 04/16



ysiya  Job Safety and Health

> Occupational Safety I
U.S. Department of Labor and Health Administration L]

All workers have the right to:

= A safe workplace.

= Raise a safety or health concern with
your employer or OSHA, or report a work-
related injury or iliness, without being
retaliated against.

= Receive information and training on
job hazards, including all hazardous
substances in your workplace.

= Request an OSHA inspection of your
workplace if you believe there are unsafe
or unhealthy conditions. OSHA will keep
your name confidential. You have the
right to have a representative contact
OSHA on your behalf.

= Participate (or have your representative
participate) in an OSHA inspection and
speak in private to the inspector.

= File a complaint with OSHA within
30 days (by phone, online or by mail)
if you have been retaliated against for
using your rights.

= See any OSHA citations issued to
your employer.

= Request copies of your medical
records, tests that measure hazards
in the workplace, and the workplace
injury and illness log.

This poster is available free from OSHA.

Contact 0SHA. We can help.

1-800-321-OSHA (6742) - TTY 1-877-889-5627 « www.osha.gov

Employers must:

= Provide employees a workplace free from
recognized hazards. It is illegal to retaliate
against an employee for using any of their
rights under the law, including raising a
health and safety concern with you or
with OSHA, or reporting a work-related
injury or iliness.

= Comply with all applicable OSHA standards.

= Report to OSHA all work-related
fatalities within 8 hours, and all inpatient
hospitalizations, amputations and losses
of an eye within 24 hours.

= Provide required training to all workers
In a language and vocabulary they can
understand.

= Prominently display this poster in the
workplace.

= Post OSHA citations at or near the
place of the alleged violations.

FREE ASSISTANCE to identify and correct
hazards is available to small and medium-
sized employers, without citation or penalty,
through OSHA-supported consultation
programs in every state.
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YOUR RIGHTS UNDER USERRA

THE UNIFORMED SERVICES EMPLOYMENT
AND REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS ACT

USERRA protects the job rights of individuals who voluntarily or involuntarily leave employment positions to undertake
military service or certain types of service in the National Disaster Medical System. USERRA also prohibits employers from
discriminating against past and present members of the uniformed services, and applicants to the uniformed services.

REEMPLOYMENT RIGHTS

HEALTH INSURANCE PROTECTION

You have the right to be reemployed in your civilian job if you leave that
job to perform service in the uniformed service and:

¥¢ you ensure that your employer receives advance written or verbal
natice of your service;

¥¢ you have five years or less of cumulative service in the uniformed
services while with that particular employer;

¥¢ you return to work or apply for reemployment in a timely manner
after conclusion of service; and

¥¢ you have not been separated from service with a disqualifying
discharge or under other than honorable conditions.

If you are eligible to be reemployed, you must be restored to the job
and benefits you would have attained if you had nat been absent due to
military service or, in some cases, a comparable job.

RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM DISCRIMINATION AND RETALIATION

If you:

v¢ are a past or present member of the uniformed service;
v¢ have applied for membership in the uniformed service; or
v¢ are obligated to serve in the uniformed service;

then an employer may not deny you:

initial employment;
reemployment;

retention in employment;
promotion; or

any benefit of employment

ok o X

because of this status.

In addition, an employer may not retaliate against anyone assisting in
the enforcement of USERRA rights, including testifying or making a
statement in connection with a proceeding under USERRA, even if that
person has no service connection.

¥¢  If you leave your job to perform military service, you have the right
to elect to continue your existing employer-based health plan
coverage for you and your dependents for up to 24 months while in
the military.

v¢  Even if you don't elect to continue coverage during your military
service, you have the right to be reinstated in your employer’s
health plan when you are reemployed, generally without any waiting
periods or exclusions (e.g., pre-existing condition exclusions) except
for service-connected illnesses or injuries.

ENFORCEMENT

¥¢  The U.S. Department of Labor, Veterans Employment and Training
Service (VETS) is authorized to investigate and resolve complaints
of USERRA violations.

v¢  For assistance in filing a complaint, or for any other information on
USERRA, contact VETS at 1-866-4-USA-DOL or visit its website at
http://www.dol.gov/vets. An interactive online USERRA Advisor can
be viewed at http://www.dol.gov/elaws/userra.htm.

¥ If you file a complaint with VETS and VETS is unable to resolve it,
you may request that your case be referred to the Department
of Justice or the Office of Special Counsel, as applicable, for
representation.

v¢  You may also bypass the VETS process and bring a civil action
against an employer for violations of USERRA.

The rights listed here may vary depending on the circumstances. The text of this notice was prepared by VETS, and may be viewed on the internet at this
address: http://www.dol.gov/vets/programs/userra/poster.htm. Federal law requires employers to notify employees of their rights under USERRA, and employers
may meet this requirement by displaying the text of this notice where they customarily place natices for employees.

U.S. Department of Labor
1-866-487-2365

U.S. Department of Justice
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Office of Special Counsel 1-800-336-4590
Publication Date — April 2017



http://www.dol.gov/vets
http://www.dol.gov/elaws/userra.htm
http://www.dol.gov/vets/programs/userra/poster.htm

EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

EMPLOYEE POLYGRAPH PROTECTION ACT

The Employee Polygraph Protection Act
prohibits most private employers from using

lie detector tests either for pre-employment
screening or during the course of employment.

PROHIBITIONS

EXEMPTIONS

EXAMINEE
RIGHTS

ENFORCEMENT

Employers are generally prohibited from requiring or requesting

any employee or job applicant to take a lie detector test, and from
discharging, disciplining, or discriminating against an employee or
prospective employee for refusing to take a test or for exercising other
rights under the Act.

Federal, State and local governments are not affected by the law. Also,
the law does not apply to tests given by the Federal Government to
certain private individuals engaged in national security-related activities.

The Act permits polygraph (a kind of lie detector) tests to be administered
in the private sector, subject to restrictions, to certain prospective
employees of security service firms (armored car, alarm, and guard), and
of pharmaceutical manufacturers, distributors and dispensers.

The Act also permits polygraph testing, subject to restrictions, of certain
employees of private firms who are reasonably suspected of involvement
in a workplace incident (theft, embezzlement, etc.) that resulted in
economic loss to the employer.

The law does not preempt any provision of any State or local law or any
collective bargaining agreement which is more restrictive with respect to
lie detector tests.

Where polygraph tests are permitted, they are subject to numerous strict
standards concerning the conduct and length of the test. Examinees
have a number of specific rights, including the right to a written notice
before testing, the right to refuse or discontinue a test, and the right not
to have test results disclosed to unauthorized persons.

The Secretary of Labor may bring court actions to restrain violations and
assess civil penalties against violators. Employees or job applicants may
also bring their own court actions.

THE LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS TO DISPLAY THIS POSTER
WHERE EMPLOYEES AND JOB APPLICANTS CAN READILY SEE IT.

1-866-487-9243
TTY: 1-877-889-5627
www.dol.gov/whd

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

WH1462 REV 07/16
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